The Moroccan flag

The Moroccan flag is stunning.

Its colors are strong and vibrant. The red background is not a regular red but rather a strong red.  A red that represents strength, valor, and bravery.  The green border of the star in the center is the color of Islam, and represents peace, joy and hope,

And its symbol is also very clear. The five-pointed star represents the five pillars of Islam.  It also represents a link between God (Allah) and the King since the country is ruled by a monarchy that claims such a link.

It is also a reminder for us non-Muslims what the religion stands for, what its central tenants consist of.

The five pillars of Islam are:

Faith — there is only one God (Allah) and that Muhammad is God’s messenger.

Prayer — five prayers each day.

Charity —tithing, the practice of charitable giving based on each person’s accumulated wealth.

Fasting — during the month of Ramadan, abstaining from food and drink from dawn to dusk during this month, and at the same time being especially mindful of other sins.

Pilgrimage to Mecca – every Muslim is obliged to make the pilgrimage to Mecca at least once in their life.

To me the simplicity of the flag is so powerful.

It transmits a very clear message.


One thought on “The Moroccan flag”

  1. Thanks Neil…..I learned something new thanks to you….we hope all’s well with Team Peterson.

    Be well,

    Dan & Holly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *